No-confidence motion against Govt defeated

Union Ministers and BJP MPs give voice vote and defeat no-confidence motion after Prime Minister Narendra Modi's speech in Lok Sabha on during the ongoing Monsoon Session of Parliament, in New Delhi on Thursday.


The no-confidence motion moved by the Opposition against the NDA government led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi was defeated in the Lok Sabha on Thursday.

The NDA defeated the no-confidence motion comfortably with a voice vote in the Lok Sabha.

The opposition moved a no-confidence motion against the Modi government on July 26, which was taken up by Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla.

The three days of the motion witnessed a fierce battle between the ruling and the Opposition coalitions over the Manipur violence and other raging issues.

This is the second time Prime Minister Narendra Modi faced a no-confidence motion.

The first such motion against the Modi government was introduced in 2018 over granting a special category status to Andhra Pradesh, which was later defeated.

The NDA has a commendable majority with a number of 331 MPs out of which the BJP has 303 MPs while the combined strength of the Opposition bloc I.N.D.I.A is 144. The numbers of unaligned parties’ MPs are 70 in the Lower House.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday replied to the motion in the House, where he tore into the Congress party during his reply to the debate on the no-confidence motion, saying the people of the country had no confidence in Congress.

“People of the country have no confidence in Congress. Due to arrogance, they are not able to see the reality.  In Tamil Nadu, they won in 1962 and since 1962 the people of Tamil Nadu are saying ‘No Congress’. In West Bengal they won in 1972, people of West Bengal are also saying ‘No Congress’. In UP, Bihar, and Gujarat they won in 1985 and the people of these states are also saying ‘No Congress’…,” the PM said.

PM Modi, while starting his speech, said that this is the blessing of God that a motion for a floor test has been brought by the opposition.

“God is very kind and speaks through some medium…I believe that it’s the blessing of God that opposition has brought this motion. I had said during the no-confidence motion in 2018 that it was not a floor test for us but a floor test for them and as a result they lost in the elections…” PM Modi said while replying to the no-trust vote.

The PM also said that Opposition’s No Confidence has always been lucky for the NDA government.

“In a way, Opposition’s No Confidence has always been lucky for us. Today, I can see that you (The opposition) have decided that NDA and BJP will come back in the 2024 elections with a grand victory, breaking all previous records, with the blessings of the people,” he said, adding that the trust of the people of the country shown in our government again and again.

Notably, any Lok Sabha MP, who has the support of 50 colleagues, can, at any point of time, introduce a motion of no-confidence against the Council of Ministers.

Thereafter, a discussion on the motion takes place. MPs who support the motion highlight the government’s shortcomings, and the Treasury Benches respond to the issues they raise. Ultimately, voting takes place and if the motion is successful, the government is forced to vacate the office.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here